The new council will provide high level advice on SA's scientific priorities. A group of leaders from across the science, innovation and industry sectors have been named as members of the new Premier’s Science and Innovation Council.

Premier Steven Marshall said the 10 members have been selected for their expertise and knowledge in science, research and innovation:

“As we kick off National Science Week, I’m pleased to announce the new members of this high-calibre council, who will provide advice on the strategic priorities and major advances in science and technology to drive the state’s growth agenda.”

“Their role is to provide input on the performance of the state’s science, research and innovation strategic plan, analyse international and national imperatives and emerging technologies, and consider market responses that provide opportunities for South Australia.

“Importantly, they will also champion diversity in the science workforce and monitor the progress of South Australia in the delivery of the national Women in STEM Decadal Plan.”

The 10 members are:

Minister for Innovation and Skills David Pisoni congratulated the new members of the council and said he was delighted with the depth of knowledge and experience of the new members.

“With our economy transforming and the emergence of new industries such as space, cyber security, digital services, health and renewable energy, the voices of award-winning researchers, innovation and research experts are vital,” Minister Pisoni said.

Chief Scientist for South Australia Caroline McMillen said South Australia is well positioned to harness world-class science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) to deliver strong economic, health and environmental outcomes.

“I look forward to working with this outstanding group of leaders to ensure South Australia continues to grow as a ‘State of Science’ where creativity and discovery shape our future industries and jobs and deliver solutions to some of the most complex problems facing our society.”

National Science Week 2019 runs 10-18 August and is celebrated through a series of large and small events staged by individuals and organisations showcasing the state’s innovation and world-leading scientific minds.

The Premier’s Science and Innovation Council replaces the SA Science Council, which was chaired by the former Chief Scientist Dr Leanna Read until March 2018.

“There is also a wonderful opportunity for the council to tap into the work of RiAus, in showcasing the achievements of South Australian and Australian scientific discoveries,” said Premier Marshall.

Source article originally published on the South Australian Premier's website: New council to deliver high level advice on scientific priorities for South Australia